Goodbye Brooklyn Backpacks… Hello Jetset Castle!

Brooklyn Backpacks is no longer…. the new name is Jetset Castle: http://www.jetsetcastle.com.  I wanted to give you a heads up so you don’t get an email in your inbox from a blog you don’t think you subscribed to– it’s still me!

Here are the definitions of Jetset, according to several online sources:

– An international social set made up of wealthy people who travel from one fashionable place to another
– A rich and fashionable social set the members of which travel widely for pleasure
– A person who travels to numerous places around the world to places that other people always want to go but never do (Urban Dictionary)
– An international social group of wealthy individuals who frequent fashionable resorts

So, while it would be amazing to travel around the world and stay in places like this:

Image

……I am not the wealthy elite.  Rather, I’m a pretty regular girl.  I am certainly not in an exclusive social group, nor do I travel primarily to fashionable resorts, like the above from Jetsetter.com.  (But, they make it possible for even us regular folk to stay in breathtaking places like this Il Sogno Mansion in Umbria, Italy for $249/night!)  Yet, I have managed to backpack through Europe, India and Australia, and I hit the road quite often to see new places and cultures.  So, all of you who are like myself – ‘commoners,’ I will call us- can certainly be jetsetters.  In fact, I think ‘jetsetting’ is  about having the state of mind to not hold back and to experience as much life as you can in your years.  As Abraham Lincoln said, “And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”

A picture taken behind the Skogafoss waterfall in Iceland with two friends. I am in the middle.

The definition that struck me was the one from the Urban Dictionary that defined one who jetsets as, “A person who travels to numerous places around the world to places that other people always want to go but never do.”  I have a lot of people who ask me how I’ve gotten to do some of the things in life that I’ve done, and they don’t think some of those things would ever be possible for them.  Yes, I have been privileged in my life in many ways that I acknowledge and am abundantly grateful for.  But, I’ve also taken steps to go after the things that I really want.  I do believe that many people have a list of ‘one days’ that they’re not quite sure if they’ll ever realize.  One day I’ll go there or experience that.  One day I’ll get healthy and get in shape.  One day I’ll start taking some time for myself.  If those one days resonate with you, I want you to know that I believe anything is possible for your life.  Whatever you want, it’s yours for the taking- go for it!

We are all too often reminded of the brevity of life.  If there is a place on your “Bucket List” to go to and experience, write it down.  Post pictures of it on your desk to remind you of your goal daily.  Devise a savings plan to put away money for it each month, or start a new business to earn some extra money for your goal each month.  I promise, your ‘one day’ is closer than you think.

Written in the ash of Eyjafjallajökull, the Icelandic volcano that erupted in 2010

A great first step is to make a list of 5 things that you have been wanting to do in your own city but that you’ve never done.  Perhaps there’s a restaurant you’ve always wanted to try?  A class you’ve been hoping to take?  An activity you’ve always thought about doing?  Wherever you live, there are little ‘bucket lists’ to check off right around you!  Sometimes that BIG goal feels a bit overwhelming, so start small.  We all get into our routines of doing the same things and going to the same places everyday.  Make this week your week to try something new and be your own jetsetter!

Fun jewelry making class with my friend Karen this past week at Lost Wax Studio in Nolita- every city is a treasure chest of new experiences to be had!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Brooklyn Backpacks… Hello Jetset Castle!

  1. Lyndsey Tarver Browne says:

    Ashley!! Your post was so encouraging, thanks for inspiring us all to be our best and start our own new adventure wherever it is!! Looking forward to reading more . . .

    • Ashley Castle says:

      Lyndsey- thank you so much! I am so glad you’re following my blog, and thank you for the positive feedback! xo

Leave a Reply

