My Quest for Sugar Freedom: Weekend Warrior

I can’t wait for the weekend to be over.

Not really, of course, but eliminating sugar from my diet on a Saturday and Sunday, with things like birthday events and festive brunches make it even more challenging.

I am happy to report that I kept my resolve to not eat sugar & ‘sweets,’ which included the temptations of both a chocolate and vanilla birthday cake for a friend’s birthday last night, ooey gooey sticky buns and donuts that were served for the table at brunch this morning, and sugary cocktails that are a staple for a regular New York weekend.

Sabrina's 32nd birthday cake.... plus another white funfetti cake!

For me, this is about forward progress.  One of my favorite quotes is: “It’s not about perfection.  It’s about progression.”  Having always been a perfectionist and someone who struggles with making things all or none, this journey that I’m in is about seeking a healthy balance in life.

With that, I still had some wine this weekend and I enjoyed every drop.  I ate some granola that was naturally sweetened with molasses and fruit sugar called LIZI’s, and the ingredients in it are top notch.  Plus, I ate it with Plain, unsweetened Greek yogurt and fresh, plump organic blueberries- what a fabulous breakfast!  For my lifestyle in New York, where so much revolves around going out to its fantastic restaurants, meeting friends for an after-work drink or hitting the town for a fun weekend, it it unrealistic for me to make a plan that I can’t stick to.  So, I enjoyed my Pinot Noir and avoided Simple Syrups and Margaritas that are packed with sugar, and I am happy with that balanced decision.

Lizi's Exquisite Granola!

Looks at these knockout ingredients!

Sunday mornings always mean big breakfasts.  That tradition started early, when mom would cook french toast or pancakes every Sunday and make the pancakes into fun shapes, like our initials, bears or snowmen.  I love my Sunday morning pancakes or cheesy omelette.  Today, I made just a slight shift, and I can honestly say that it was just as delish.

Delish!

I made scrambled eggs, adding zero butter or cheese, and had a piece of Whole grain Ezekiel toast, along with roasted sweet potato hash browns.  It was exquisite.

Ezekiel bread  is the best you can buy.  It’s a sprouted, 100% flourless bread, made entirely from sprouted grains.  It contains complete proteins, containing all 9 essential amino acids and closely paralleling the protein found in milk and eggs.  I got this at Trader Joes, but you can find it at Whole Foods or your local health food store- possibly it’s in larger grocery chains, as well.

Look for this packaging at your local store

The ingredients say it all. Check out the ingredients of the bread you've been eating and you won't believe the difference. Most other breads contain sugar in them.

Here is the simple recipe for the sweet potato hashbrowns:
Cut 2-3 sweet potatoes into small squares
Toss lightly with 1 tbsp olive oil, sea salt and black pepper
Put on a foil-lined cookie sheet and bake on 375 for about 15 minutes or until done.

Voila!  Easy enough.

So, here is to another week of health, another week of getting better, another week of being kinder to my body and to myself through creating a more balanced, healthy life.  Cheering you on as you make small shifts to do the same!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

