My Quest for Sugar Freedom: B.S.

I’m sure you’ve also heard the following quote: “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.”

I’m declaring that as bull sh$t.

Right now, I would love nothing more to go into the kitchen of my office, where a fresh batch of CRUMBS cupcakes were just delivered.  If you don’t live in New York and haven’t had crumbs, this will give you a good visual of my current struggle:

Crumbs Cupcakes, NYC

Right now, I am salivating for sugar.  It’s day 6, and for me, this is just about the time that I normally cave in.  Not this time, though.

I am realizing that when I am thoughtful about my choices, rather than instinctive, I am able to more easily stick to my goals. My instincts, I am learning, more often than not are fueled by my emotions rather than my hunger.  We have all heard of the term emotional eating.  Many people think of that being tied to emotions of sadness or depression.  But what about being attached to feeling tired?  Stressed?  Anxious?  Overwhelmed, or even happy?

This is not a matter of right or wrong, good or bad.  Eating a cupcake is not wrong or bad, inherently.  It is a choice independent of any meaning.  When I take these meanings off of these objects, I am able to think clearly and ask myself, “Ashley, is this choice in line with what you are wanting to achieve?”  And the answer to that is, clearly, no.  Which produces the reminder of what my goal actually is. 

Yes, I am going to Miami in 3 weeks and I want to look good in my white bikini (spray tan, here I come!).  But for me, it has to be more than that.  I have always made a goal something like that- and the truth is, traditionally when I want sugar, in that moment the desire for it usually surpasses the desire of my end goal.  Hence, making that above quote irrelevant in that moment.  But, not anymore.

Suprise! I'm this girl's body double. I know, isn't she lucky?

Because in giving myself a moment to think, I know for me this isn’t just about looking good for the upcoming swimsuit season.  It’s about wanting to create a true, lasting change in the way that I view food, health, my body and my long-term health.  It’s about being driven more by the way I know I feel in my body when I am at my best: confident, carefree, and light in my spirit.

So, it’s another day of success.  Of course the day isn’t through yet, but my vision is already in place.  And when you have vision, you have all you need.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Quest for Sugar Freedom: B.S.

  1. Angela Shimek says:

    Ash – Enjoying all these articles. Keeping me motivated and informed. Thank you! – Angela S.
    P.S. Lemon Larabars are delish. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

