City of Lights

It’s been slightly over 2 months since I’ve written, which means it’s been just over 2 months since I returned home from Australia and started life again in the glorious city of New York.

Rockefeller Center, NYC

I absolutely love New York at Christmastime.  Despite all of the crowds an congestion, there is a feeling of magic walking through the streets of the Village and all around the city, with its sparkling lights and shoppers.  Perhaps its because I grew up watching movies that took place in New York around Christmastime and now it is my reality: going ice skating in Central Park, seeing the tree at Rockefeller, looking out my window right now as I write this and seeing the Chrysler building magnificently lit up.

Amidst the hustle and bustle....

I do miss the hot Australian sun on my skin, though.  I miss waking up and having each day be uncharted and new, and  I love the freedom it brings to my spirit.  When I was in Australia, I had no itineraries, no set plans, no 6:45 a.m. spin class that I had to be at so I could make it to work on time, no hustle and bustle… just sand and blue skies.  Sunsets, beers, friends, calm.  Today, I wish I could transport myself to my nightly sunset runs along the coast of Byron Bay.

On a nightly run along the Byron Bay coast...

On the trail that I would run everyday on the way up to the lighthouse. Goodness I miss this view...

One of the biggest gifts of travel is how it allows you to step outside of your normal life and set off on an uncharted journey.  A journey where new lessons are learned constantly, unexpected stories arise and new friends are made.  I need to have both in my life: the assurance that constancy brings, as well as the flight of the soul that takes place when I don’t have a plan in the world.

 

So as I walk the streets on this cold winters eve, fragrant with the smell of hot candied peanuts that adorn each city block, the horns and bustle bring a different kind of comfort.  As the fog rests deeply into this city of lights tonight, shrouding her into its thickness and giving her a soft glow, and as I long for the hot Australian sun to drench my skin and for the waves to beckon my soul, I am still so happy to be home.

Our festive West Village apartment at Christmastime Skating at Bryant Park

Skating at Bryant Park

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to City of Lights

  1. tis true and beautiful, ashley. love your hat in the hustle and bustle pic!

Leave a Reply

